Hey hey, Mother’s Day

Mom. A real bat that one is. Not like the creature with leathery wings, but a bat as in a loon. But not like the bird, but like a nut. Shit. I guess what I’m trying to say is that my mother is crazy.

 

But whose isn’t crazy, right? I mean mom’s have to raise human beings, and mine did it by herself. Imagine that, taking care of a completely ignorant tiny human so that they live long enough to become a (relatively) competent larger human– absurd. I don’t think I have the balls to pull that off, even if another person was helping me. So today, on this most special of days, I tip my hat to you Mom for taking on the insane undertaking of raising yours truly.

 

Honestly, I don’t know how you did it. And that goes for all you single mothers out there. From the mom’s living paycheck to paycheck to the mom’s in comfortable digs who’ve set up college funds for their kids. Bravo. You’re not only surviving for yourself, your surviving for two, or three, sometimes four and more– and that in a word is amazing.

 

(And shout out to all single dad’s out there. You’re being both parents day in and day out. Mother’s day belongs to you too.)

 

I can’t speak for anyone else, but I remember growing up so bitter with my mom’s decisions. There was never any justice, or so that’s how I perceived things. If I was thrown into her situation, escaping an abusive relationship, moving across the country with a baby, and making sure that there was always food on the table, I don’t know if I could do it. But she did. And, looking back I’m so proud of her and I understand the why she did the things she did– including depriving me of my justice. Life just hurls shit at you and doesn’t care how you handle it, you just have to and that means making hard decisions sometimes.

 

I remember when we moved before I started second grade. At the time I was pissed because that meant I had to start over again, making friends is your whole world when you’re seven. She just wanted me to be in one of the best school districts in the state though. We stayed in an alright apartment for years and she made it a home, even though, as mom put it: the landlord was a bitch. On top of that she put up with the stress of two, sometimes three jobs just so that I could have nice things and she could could save up for a place of our own. She wanted her own home and not answer to a landlord.

 

After four years of grinding she saved enough money to move us into a single floor, one bathroom, two bedroom house– and she was thrilled. I, on the other hand, was pretty nonchalant about the whole thing. The only thing I wanted was a dog.  Looking back, just as like our odyssey to Vermont, getting that house was damn impressive.
So again: Happy Mother’s Day to you Connie and to all mom’s out there. You’re doing the impossible, and one day, and it may seem far off now, but your kids will appreciate the hell out of you and all you’ve accomplished (even if when it’s all said and done you’re crazy as hell.)

Leave a Reply

