Complete Shit

You ever read your own writing and think: well this is complete shit. No two ways about it– this is pure, unadulterated hot garbage that I wrote and I’ll be damned if anybody but me ever reads it. How often does this happen? And alternatively, how often do you read something of yours and think: Damn, this is too good.

 

My guess is the the former outpaces the latter. I know, anecdotally, that that’s the case with my own writing. I’ll read something that’s been published, y’know something written by an actual author and then I’ll start in on something that I wrote yesterday and they just don’t compare. It’s almost as if they’re writing in a different language. The difference is apples and oranges– and I fucking hate oranges.

 

Is there ever a moment when it all clicks?

 

Who the hell knows.

 

3 thoughts on “Complete Shit

  1. My answer is yes to the first question. Sadly. Sigh. Why don’t I stop writing then?! Geez.
    Your last question, although I am inclined to think no, I’ll just say my goodness, I hope so.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

